What I’m Listening To: Rainy Morning Playlist

This is my Dreary Morning Playlist. Inspired by Alicia, who was, I think, inspired by Brene Brown, I was trying to think of my “theme song.” But I love music too much to pick one.

“Captain Kirk,” I said first; “I just wanna feel good. I don’t want to hurt nobody. I just want to get a good time out of my life,” goes the chorus. As a recovering unboundaried, compulsive do-gooder, this was my theme song several years back as I began to let go of the need to fix, um, well, everything.

No, wait, “Pride,” by U2. That balances the other song; showing courage in the name of love (rather than in the name of filling up an insecure ego).

But, “Sons and Daughters,” with Colin Meloy’s utopian “here, all the bombs fade away,” always brings tears to my eyes. Squishy as it sounds, I really do pray for world peace. Every day. With my children.

But speaking of prayer, John Prine’s chorus,” Father, forgive us for what we must do; You forgive us and we’ll forgive you. We’ll forgive each other ’til we both turn blue,” just about sums up most of my other prayers.

Which got me to thinking about how we deal with our hurts: Holding space both for the inevitable pain of life and the beautiful grace that emerges when we sit compassionately with ourselves and others, committed to transforming our pain instead of transmitting it; that’s my definition of the good life.

So, I added Bob Marley’s “Redemption Song,” Colin Hay’s “Beautiful World,” Rancid’s “Fall Back Down,” Mumford and Sons’ “Lover of the Light.” I was on a roll.

To round out with the quiet joy and gratitude I feel when I settle down to appreciate the life I’ve been given, I added Jack Johnson’s “Better Together,” and Josh Ritter’s “Snow is Gone,” Which reminds me to add a couple more right now.

So, what’s on your playlist?

Comments are moderated. Let's keep it kind.

